Don’t forget to reply. It really is that simple.

We live in an insanely fast pace world.  A world of wi-fi connections everywhere, instant access to answers on google, 24-hour grocery shopping that allows  you to pick up groceries without having to even get out of the car.  Don’t get me wrong, I love it all and as a mom of 6 with my own business, I need every ounce of immediate help I can get in a 24 hour period.

And yet, with all this instant access, I find it amazing how many people I know on a personal level that I cannot reach.  I have friends, relatives, children and vendors who I can call, email or text and wait days for a reply.  I ask myself, “Is it me? Have I said something offensive? Are they alive? Should I call an ambulance?”

I wait the appropriate length of time and check again to find out that I haven’t offended them and in fact, we are on great terms. They are alive and no they haven’t been in the hospital or unconscious for days.  We might share a laugh about how busy they are, how they forgot to reply to the text but of course, they read it immediately.

Our world has become so fast paced that people are unconsciously choosing not to respond to emails, text or phone calls because they don’t have time to organize a response. Unintentionally sending with it, this message: you are not important to me or I don’t have time for you.

As I experience this more and more, I realize I want to be different.  Everyone needs their own meter for turnaround times, however as we make our life more simple with technology, we can make it more simple with communication as well.  Set your own expectations and habits.

If your text message reply turnaround time becomes longer than 4 days, deactivate your text message service.  You aren’t doing yourself any favors.   If your voicemail reply becomes a week, deactivate your voicemail service.  However, should you decide you need these services in your life, change your habits – respond to them when you read or listen to them.  Be different and don’t forget to reply.  It really is that simple.